The Confirmation

Sunday, November 6

I couldn’t get in to see my ob/gyn so I just met with a nurse to take a blood test. Got the results yesterday – confirmed pregnant. You know, just in case those two pee sticks were wrong. We were at the horse races, and I knew I wouldn’t be able to hear her over the phone so I let it go to voicemail. I listened to the message and all I heard was “positive.” It was all I could do not to do a dance or something in front of our friends. We listened to the voicemail together on the drive home. My heart was beating a little harder. I couldn’t stop periodic exclamations: “Oh, my God, a baby is going to come out of my vagina next summer!” “The average baby will be at least seven pounds, right? That’s seven pounds that’s going to be expelled from my body. I mean, I’ve never even had a seven-pound poop!”

The lady on the voicemail said it was consistent with six to seven weeks along. That was confusing to me. I should only be three to four weeks along. Then I did some googling and learned how they calculate the due date (from the first day of the last period) so I now know I’m five-and-a-half weeks along, and our due date is July 5, 2012.

We’re excited. And although I tend to cling to the negative things (no booze, no hottubs, no ski trip, no more fun, etc.) DH is going to help me stay positive. Must focus on the blessing here. We realize how lucky we are. Lucky to find each other, and now lucky that it only took us a little over two months to get pregnant. We are blessed. We will be amazing parents. Life is good.

Acccording to an online pregnancy weight calculator, I should gain between 15 and 25 pounds. That means I could get up to 185. Ugh, that will be hard.

 

Leave a Reply

