It Pees!

Saturday, January 7

Something is peeing inside me!

Fourteen weeks. The size of a lemon! “This week’s big developments: Your baby can now squint, frown, grimace, pee, and possibly suck his thumb! Thanks to brain impulses, his facial muscles are getting a workout as his tiny features form one expression after another. His kidneys are producing urine, which he releases into the amniotic fluid around him — a process he’ll keep up until birth. He can grasp, too, and if you’re having an ultrasound now, you may even catch him sucking his thumb.”

We got our intial genetic test numbers back. Our risk of Down’s is 1 in 240. Our risk of Trisomy 18 is 1 n 20,000. The doctor called them both low risk, but that it was up to us if we wanted to do more invasive testing. I’m not interested. I feel really good about us, and I’m just not worried about it. We still have the option of the amnio later too. Although having a large needle put into my stomach does not appeal to me either.

I’ve been reading books on birth. What an eye opener. I started reading Your Best Birth and told DH, “I have a feeling at the end of this book, I’m going to want to go for a natural birth. If that’s the case, you have to read it too, so you don’t think I’m crazy.” And then we watched the documentary The Business of Being Born together. DH now understands where I’m coming from. I don’t want a hospital birth experience. No drugs, no C-sections, no pressure to hurry up and get it out. I want a birth center experience. I want to be present in the birth. I want to be able to move around for comfort. I want the option of the water birth. I want to be able to eat and drink if I have to. I want to be able to hold my baby immediately and not surrender he/she to a battery of tests before we’ve had time to bond. There’s so much science out there about how important it is to bond with your child immediately, and Amercian women just aren’t educated about their options. I’ve been watching A Birth Story a lot, and it makes me so angry how the doctors treat the women and how often they intervene with drugs and C-sections. The female body knows what to do. I don’t want to be pressured into something I don’t want, just because the doctor on call wants to go home. It’s fascinating, really. I’m learning a lot. (And if an emergency arises, it’s an ambulance ride.)

I feel bad for how I reacted to my friend L’s birth plan seven years ago. When she said she was going natural in a non-hospital setting, I called her crazy. Turns out, I totally get it now. (And this is not to say that women who choose a hospital setting are wrong. Whatever works to get that thing out, right? No judgment here.)

Of course, I don’t think birth centers are covered by insurance. But we’ll figure it out. We just paid for a wedding; we can pay for our kid’s birth somehow. Now I have to look into the bith center/midwife/doula business… I’m kind of excited in a weird, empowered way.

Saturday, January 14

Fifteen weeks. The size of an apple!

Today we have a coed baby shower to go to. I’m so glad it’s coed. I hate going to showers, and it’ll be a lot more fun with DH there. I hope they don’t play any stupid games. Just food and socializing with friends, ok?

I think I maybe felt the baby move the other day. Maybe. I guess first-time moms don’t feel them usually until later. I was driving home from work and felt this twitchy-nerve feeling in my belly. It was brief and I didn’t make the connection until a few minutes later. I wonder…

Latest craving: rootbeer. Can’t get enough. And the carmel apple pie in the Paramount commissary. Oh man, is that good. Sweets are going to be my downfall.

Most annoying symptom: rhinitis of pregnancy! I hate not being able to breathe through my nose.

Ten pound weight gain so far. 168. I just read that I’m only supposed to gain around 5 for the first trimester. Oops. Let’s hope I can keep it under 200 lbs.

Leave a Reply

