The Firstborn

Let me take a minute to talk about my firstborn, among all the talk of growing the second. Lil C is almost 4. The leaps and bounds to which she is growing takes my breath away. This morning, she woke up, got down from her bunk bed by herself, took off her pull-up, got dressed and came out to say, “Good morning!” Usually, she calls to us to help her with all of those things. My favorite expressions she says are, “If you say so…” and “or not,” (“I’m going to dress my baby.” [Struggles to get clothes on doll.] “Or not…”) which is sarcasm that totally come from me. “A little help, please, Mommy?” also makes me smile. And a bunch of other really grown up things come out of her mouth, astounding me. “Is there anything I can do to help, Daddy?” I mean, come on!

Yesterday, she got a new dinosaur toy from her trip to Chuck E Cheese with the nanny. As we were driving home, I told her about how dinosaurs don’t exist anymore, but they used to a long, long time ago. She asked what happened, and I told her that one theory was a big rock from space came down and hit the ground, and it caused all the dinosaurs to die. She thought about it and said no, she thinks people put them in museums (thank you Natural History Museum). I told her how humans didn’t exist when there were dinosaurs, and that the only reason we know about dinosaurs is because sometimes when farmers dig into the ground, they find their bones. And it’s those bones that we put into the museums. She said excitedly, “Those bones are skeletons! I saw them.” She is so flippin smart. I have to keep reminding myself that she doesn’t need to know everything, because like my mom, I tend to over-explain. She has such a big mind on her, and seems to understand everything, that I find myself biting my tongue right before I explain death or cemeteries or how babies are made (that was a fun one: “When a mommy and daddy love each other very much, they can decide to make a baby. Hey, look over there…”)

She can spell her first name and count to 20 (with the exception of 16 for some reason.) She loves to play hide and seek, loves to play with water (and the resulting mess) and is usually the happiest, most affectionate little girl. Other kids gravitate toward her to play. She’s a good leader, and kids tend to follow – even older kids. Recently a bunch of 5-year-olds were playing her “chase me” game at the park. She’s going to be a terrific big sister. We consider ourselves so very lucky to have gotten such a good one. I joke that I fear this second one will have gotten all our scraps, since all our good stuff went to #1. But I know, even if we have an opposite child, he will be loved beyond measure, especially by his sister.

IMG_5093
Our lucky charm!

Of course, it’s easy to talk about the good stuff, but in reality, it’s not always perfection. Last night, she kicked me in my belly. Thanks, dear daughter, for keeping me on my toes. This baby boy had better be a tough lil bugger, just in case…

Leave a Reply

